Look! Up in the sky! It’s Algolthedemonstar!

Her favorite food is cake and her favorite book is always the next good one. After discovering Answers in 2008, she’s been very active this past year. With over 26,000 contributions, this Floating Supervisor and recent AnswerThon winner is an Editor at Large in the WikiReviewers program and a Vandal Patrol Generalist. Allow me to introduce you to Answers contributor Algolthedemonstar, known to friends and family as Chris.

Q: Many of us here at Answers have stories behind our usernames. Is there anything special about yours?
A: I’ve always been interested in astronomy and it’s suitably anarchic.

Q: What can you tell us about your family pets?
A: In the family we have three dogs, a cat, a budgie, a bearded dragon and a tank of fish. The dogs are two young, boisterous labradors and a very old demented Yorkie.

Q: Where did you attend school, and do you hold any degrees?
A: My degree is in chemistry, I graduated from the University of Wales a long time ago. I then did a Postgraduate Certificate in Education.

Q: What were your influences in choosing your field of study?
A: Science is endlessly fascinating and never lets you down.

Q: What is your occupation, and what do you find most meaningful about your job?
A: I am a retired teacher of nearly 40 years’ experience. I chose education because I’m more interested in the ideas than the lab work, and I wanted to pass them on.

Wensleydale
Wensleydale, in Yorkshire, England

Q: From what part of the world are you hailing to us?
A: Liverpool, just down the road from Penny Lane.

Q: What life accomplishments are you proud of?
A: Surviving!

Q: Do you have a special motto or belief in life?
A: Science is not a subject, it’s a philosophy.

Q: Do you have any traveling experiences you’d like to share?
A: I’ve travelled widely in Britain and seen some fantastic places. I love Wales, Northumberland, Kent, Yorkshire and Shropshire, as well as my native
Lancashire. The most beautiful place I can think of is Wensleydale. Abroad, I’ve been to Paris, the west and south of France, Spain, Portugal, Budapest, Prague, Salzburg and Vienna. I also went to Jordan and Israel, but that was a very long time ago.

Q: Where is one place in the world you would love to visit and why?
A: Petra in Jordan. That famous description: ‘That rose red city half as old as time’

Q: What are your special interests, hobbies, or collections? What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?
A: I’m a crochet addict though I also enjoy other needlecrafts such as needlepoint. I read mostly science fiction and fantasy but I also enjoy mysteries and occasional lighter novels. My TV interests are similar and also include medical dramas and some sitcoms. I don’t cook as much as I used to but still enjoy it if there’s no time pressure. I am completely lacking in the sporting gene and neither take part nor watch, a fact that limits my conversation in most company.

Q: Any other favorites you’d like to share with our readers?
A:
Band or Artist: Leonard Cohen
Television shows: Grey’s Anatomy, Criminal Minds, Forever, Star Trek in all its incarnations, Stargate SG1, Law and Order SVU, Critical, Mrs. Brown’s Boys, QI, Have I Got News For You, and Pointless.
Movies: Trading Places; just brilliantly funny. Groundhog Day; an allegory without being preachy. About Time; sad and glorious together. The Holiday; pure escapism.
Poet: James Elroy Flecker. He just transports me to wherever he wrote about.
Poem: The Secret People by G.K. Chesterton: so real after so much time.
Authors: Too many to count: Kathy Reichs, Alexander McCall Smith, Ben Aaronovitch, Sheri S. Tepper, Anne McCaffrey

Q: What accomplishments on Answers.com are you proud of and any goals you’d
like to achieve on the site?
A: Being part of Vandal Patrol and WikiReviewers. I intend to learn about writing articles.

Author: WikiAnswers

This is the Blog Account for WikiAnswers.com.

One thought on “Look! Up in the sky! It’s Algolthedemonstar!”

  1. Why do you show 6 images of the exact same thing and put separate text between each one when you could put up an image then put all the text associated with it THEN put up the other image with the text associated with that one thereby have only 2 images with 2 separate texts rather than an image, text, same image, texts, same image,…..

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

