Meet VigorousChemist: Expert in Chemistry, Music and Answers.com!

Sri Lanka

Answers.com is not the only area where VigorousChemist excels.  He is an accomplished pianist and an expert in chemistry – his username should not surprise, once you know this fact.  His contributions on the site are close to 40,000!  VigorousChemist went through the Mentoring Program and then became a Category Supervisor in Buddhism, Chemistry, Sri Lanka (where he hails from) and Organic Chemistry.  He also spends time greeting new members as a WikiGuide and editing Q&A as a WikiReviewer.  He discovered Answers.com while studying at the university.  We are thrilled to have learned more about him!  Read more!

What is your first name?

My first name is Chrishan.

What is your occupation?

I’m currently an undergraduate in the Physical Sciences stream at the University of Colombo in Sri Lanka.

What is your Answers.com username and how did it come about?

My username at Answers.com is VigorousChemist. When I was in high school in the Advanced Level of Mathematics stream, I became famous for solving exam questions in chemistry in a relatively short time. My friends gave me this nickname after I got only one incorrect response in a span of 30 minutes on a two hour exam.

What enticed you to join our community?

While I and my classmates were doing academic work, we used the Internet for immediate reference.  On many occasions –  actually almost all occasions –  we landed on the Answers.com page.  I decided that one day I would contribute to Answers.com!  I signed up on April 29th in 2012, although prior to that time I contributed as an anonymous user.  The credits of enticement should go to my friends and search engines.

What is your favorite thing to do on Answers.com?

As a regular contributor, my favorite task is to give first answers in full sentences.  I submitted 100 such answers even before completing my first 150 contributions.  By now, as a Supervisor, batch recategorizing and editing alternates are among my favorite activities.  Meanwhile, my least interesting task is to warn and block users.

If you were inviting someone to join Answers.com, what reason(s) would you give that person to become a part of our community?

I never forget to invite my friends to contribute to Answers.com.  On the site they help other persons in various ways, and they gain knowledge about the fields they are interested in.  I would recommend Answers.com as one of the best websites with a friendly community of Community Assistants, Supervisors, Special Project Assistants and other contributors.

What life accomplishments are you proud of?

One of the accomplishments that I am most proud of is being eligible to do undergraduate studies in my favorite subject stream.

What accomplishments on Answers.com are you proud of?

I’m proud of being a Double Platinum Contributor, a Special Project Assistant Active Alumni, and a Category Supervisor.  I am also a Mentoring Program Graduate, another tremendous achievement!

What is your favorite type of music?  

I like classical music, especially piano sonatas and symphonies.  Among my favorite composers are Johann Sebastian Bach, Ludwig van Beethoven, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and Robert Schumann.

Who is your favorite poet?  What is your favorite poem and why?

Poet, Wendy Whatmore

My favorite poet is Wendy Whatmore.  My favorite poem is “Island Spell” by the same author, and it is written about my home country, Sri Lanka. The poetic devices and techniques used there are awesome!

Do you view the glass ‘half full’ or ‘half empty’?  Why?

Actually I believe it depends on the context. As an example, when results are given on an exam, I’d like to see the glass as ‘half filled’. But when I’m practicing something, such as a performance for a recital, I usually like to see the ‘half empty’ glass, because it can be further filled by continuous effort!

What is your favorite quote and why?

“A person who never made a mistake, never tried anything new,” by Albert Einstein.  I believe that I may make many mistakes in life (although I try to refrain), so I am practicing to be patient in all circumstances when dealing with others.

Who or what is your inspiration in life?

My parents, all of my teachers, and my sister are among the persons who support me in all my activities.

Amazon Rainforest

Where is one place in the world you would love to visit and why?

I would like to visit the Amazon Rainforest. The beauty of nature, the colorful surroundings rich with natural and clean air, and its solemnity would make me happy and light hearted!

What are your special interests, hobbies, or collections?

There are many activities that I enjoy in my leisure time.  Most often I play the piano.  Among my other hobbies are philately, listening to music, photography, playing chess and contributing to Answers.com (obviously!).

Your comments are welcome!

