A Man with a Heart of Gold: Meet Debabrata Sengupta

Our contributor from India, Debabrata Sengupta is not only enthusiastic about Answers.com, but he is a man with a deep sense of altruism who devotes much of his time to helping those who are less fortunate.  Debabrata has a poet’s sensibility, a businessman’s acumen and he is truly a citizen of the world.  On the site, he participates by asking and answering questions most frequently in the health and insurance categories.  He recently was a Second Place winner in the 2012 Sizzlin’ Summer AnswerThon.  Read on to learn more about Debabrata!

What is your first name?

My first name is Debabrata.

What is your occupation?  

I am a savings and exim consultant.

What is your Answers.com user name and how did it come about?

It is DebabrataSengupta, which is also my full name.

Where in the world do you hail from and what makes this place special?

I am from West Bengal, India, the birthplace of the world famous Nobel Laureate in Literature, Rabindranath Tagore, and the famous Hindu monk, Swami Vivekananda.

What enticed you to join our community?

The high standards and depth of the Answers.com site enticed me to join the community.

What do you find most challenging as an Answers.com Supervisor?

While editing any answer, I have to be extremely careful that the same is devoid of vulgarity, religious or political overtones, and that it is precise and to the point.

If you were inviting someone to join Answers.com, what reasons(s) would give that person to become part of our community?

I have invited many students to join Answers.com to expand their knowledge base.

What accomplishments on Answers.com, you are proud of?

I came in 2nd place in the 2012 Sizzlin Summer AnswerThon, answering 102 questions in 48 hours.

What life accomplishments are you proud of?

In 2006 I started the non-profit organization, Oriental Mother Welfare Foundation with the sale of proceeds from my book of 50 poems entitled Self Expression.

What is your favorite band or artist?

My favorite band is “Bhumi,” a Bengali band  that is popular in India and internationally.  They have performed in the US and Europe.

Who is your favorite poet? What is your favorite poem & why?

Rabindranath Tagore

My favorite poet is Rabindranath Tagore.  I especially like his poem,”Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high.’  This poem represents Tagore’s dream to live in a world of peace and where there is universal brotherhood, and tolerance for all castes and religions.

What makes you unique?

I speak the unpleasant truth without fearing the consequences.

If you had three wishes, what would you wish to?

I would wish to start a charitable shelter for the poor, to create a free coaching center for slum children, and to build a center for my non-profit organization.

What are your special interest, hobbies or collections?

When I was younger, it was stamp collecting.  Now I write the letters to the editor column of an English Daily fortnightly, and of course visiting Answers.com site.

What is your favorite quote and why?

‘Self trust is the first secret of success’ by Ralph Waldo Emerson.  Without self-trust or self-reliance, no one can achieve success in any sphere of life.

Where is one place in the world you would love to visit and why?

I would like to visit the United States because this country is the birthplace of democracy with leaders like Abraham Lincoln and George Washington.  It is also a country where respect for human dignity is high and the transparency of the judiciary is envious to any country of the world.

Do you have any talents?

I am humbled to reply: I love writing on any topic related to social causes, a passion which comes from within.

Do you want to add anything?

I have no hesitation to say that I am in love with Answers.com.  I wish to enrich our community with my humble contributions.  I dream to visit this great land of USA one day and meet and interact with my fellow community member contributors.