Dedication and Service: Burning Saviour

Our awesome Featured Contributor of the week – Burning Saviour – was a Combat Medic, serving in three combat tours (one in Afghanistan, two in Iraq). When asked about his proudest accomplishments, he explained: “From what I’ve been told, the people I’ve served with tend to think I was somewhat good at it. How good or bad I was is something I prefer not to dwell on, personally. Anyone in any medical occupation hopes for a 100% success rate, and I’m doubtful any have ever achieved that. In spite of what others tell me, I do still feel like I’ve failed for not achieving that (probably?) impossible 100% success rate. But I’m proud to have done my part over there.”

And we couldn’t be prouder to have you in the community! Thanks for your dedication and service!

What is your user name and the history behind it?

BurningSaviour. I nabbed it from the title of one of my favourite songs of all time.

What is your first name?

I go by Jeff, which is actually a variation of my middle name. The first place in the United States I lived in was a small town in Mississippi, and I figured a name more common to Americans might be beneficial.

What is your age?


Would you care to tell us about your family?

My father is from Namibia, my mother is an expat from Rhodesia (Zimbabwe). They run a small business in Windhoek. I have a sister who lives in England, and a brother who…. last we heard from him, he had made his way to Canada. This was about 10 years ago.

Do you have any pets?

Currently, none. Before I moved to Colorado, my housemates and I had sort of “inherited” three cats from our former neighbours, plus we had a dog. I’ve also kept tropical fish in the past.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I moved to Colorado Springs, Colorado in November of 2010. Prior to this, I’d lived in Garner, North Carolina since 2002.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I lived in Namibia during a very turbulent time. I didn’t get vacations to Disneyland to remember for the rest of my life, or anything of that sort. Instead, we went to bed at night hoping that SWAPO terrorists weren’t going to murder us. When we left Namibia for South Africa, we actually passed by columns of SADF vehicles headed for what would be the Battle of Cuito Cuanavale. My “special” memories from my childhood… weren’t special in any good way.

What educational information would you like to share?

I never went to university, but I’ve attended a couple different trade schools. I’ve been a licensed EMT-P, I hold a Class A Commercial Drivers License, and I’m a certified/qualified gunsmith, which I do as a side business.

What are some of your past or present occupations?

I’m currently a truck driver. In the past, I’ve been a Combat Medic in the US Army, a civilian Paramedic, a Deputy Sheriff, and a few odd jobs here and there.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

On, most of my answers would fall under:

~ Firearms: I’ve been into target shooting since I was a child, and that carried over into my adult life. I no longer have time for competitive shooting, but I get to the range when I can. I’m a certified gunsmith, and hold a Type 1 Federal Firearms License.

~ Commercial Vehicles: I’ve held a Commercial Drivers Licence since 2002, which I began as a secondary source of income. I haven’t learned everything there is to know, but I’ve learned some things through experience which I can share.

~ Rules of the Road: A pet peeve of mine, since these are so often ignored. While I wouldn’t consider myself a subject matter expert, I do happen across questions I can answer every so often.

~ US Army: Although a lot has changed since I was in, some of it hasn’t, and I can answer some of the questions here. I served as a Combat Medic in the Army from 1998 to 2002, and continued to serve in the National Guard from 2002 to 2006.

~ Heavy Metal Music: Been into it since the 1980s, and I tend to be a bit of a purist on this matter.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I like to go fishing (catch and release, since I can’t stand the taste of fish), watching movies, and simply trying new things. As for collections, I have a pretty significant collection of historical firearms (WWI – Korean War era), shot glasses I’d purchase in each state when I was an over-the-road truck driver (though I don’t drink, so they go unused), I save ticket stubs of every concert/gig I go to, and I buy lots of music.

What do you like to do for recreation?

Fish, ride my bike, go watch movies, answer questions on, find new things to get into.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I have what I consider ridiculously large feet (I wear a US size 14 shoe). Although most of my shirts are black, I never could stand dressing in all black. I’m fluent in three languages, although my spoken English could still use some improvement. I have quite a craving for waffles at the moment.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I can play a few musical instruments – primarily, drum set. I can play woodwind instruments to some extent (though I know only the very basics), and have had some piano lessons in the past… whether or not I remember any of it, I cannot say with any certainty.

What are your special goals or dreams?

Honestly, just to find my niche in life.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I’m not a particularly friendly person, nor particularly unfriendly. I have a tendency to keep everyone at arm’s length, and encounter a bit of difficulty meeting new people. I’ve always been a bit of a loner, and never really had any desire to change that.

What brought you to

IIRC, I was doing some sort of web search, an answered question on came up in the results, I ended up looking through the site some more, and you know where it went from there.

What keeps you coming back to

I’ve learned a few things here and there throughout the years, but they tend to be things which don’t come up in a “normal”, everyday conversation. Aside from CMV operators, who talks about commercial vehicles, for example? So I like being able to do that, I like the community here, I like pancakes, and I like answering questions.

What is your favorite activity?

Undoing the work of site vandals, which I consider my favourite activity, but also my least favourite at the same time (least favoured in that it’s such a recurring problem). And I like answering questions, especially when it’s one of those things I can answer, but which I would NEVER be asked during the course of another day other than on

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

Your comments are welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s