Anacanapanastan – the Ingredient of Excellence.

Most weeks we feature our beloved Supervisors here on no.stupid.answers. This week, we are honored to be featuring one of our amazing Premier Answerers, Anacanapanastan. If you’re not familiar with this tongue twister of a term, anacanapanastan has a little something to do with The Three Stooges (more below). Active in a number of categories, Anacanapanastan finds Answers.com both therapeutic and engaging. Here’s more:

What is your Answers.com user name? And how did you come up with it?

My Answers.com user name is Anacanapanastan. I chose it as a result of being a lifelong fan of The Three Stooges. Admiration of their wit started when I was young, in the early 1960’s. “Anacanapanastan” was an ingredient contained in a youth potion featured in one of The Stooges’ short movies called, “All Gummed Up”. Perhaps getting older made a youth potion seem desirable; or maybe I just found The Stooges funny. Probably some of both.

What brought you to Answers.com?

I happened upon Answers.com after having had brain tumor surgery. There has been a long recovery from it, and I am no longer able to work. Answers.com is an outlet for me to assist people in substantive areas in which I had/have experience, including insurance, healthcare, and the law. I have pretty good writing abilities (so I am told), and am happy to assist the site with editing as well. To that extent, it is therapeutic.

What do you do for a living? What are some of your hobbies?

I am “involuntarily retired” as a result of brain tumor surgery. In my prior life, I was an attorney. I also wrote extensively on insurance and health care issues, and worked with a major publisher as a consultant on the design and marketing of an insurance regulatory product.

My hobbies still include “egg-head” activities. These include contributing to blogs, assisting people in understanding insurance issues and public policy developments related to brain tumors that they or family members have via a “survivor’s” community, and notably, participating in Answers.com.

I am also a husband, the father of a son in his early ‘teens, and of 18 (mostly-rescued) dogs.

I volunteer regularly with animal rescue and welfare organizations, and am participating in political campaigns.

What is one goal you’d like to accomplish during your lifetime?

One goal that I would like to accomplish during my lifetime is to educate others as to the need to reduce government intrusion into private life. As part of that, I feel that it is urgent that people understand that there are no “entitlements” from government apart from providing for a strong military to defend the country. To understand that, however, it is necessary to grasp that government does not produce wealth – if it is to redistribute it, it first needs to confiscate it, which, to my thinking, is amoral.

What are your areas of expertise or interest?

My primary areas of expertise are insurance, healthcare, and civil law. I have a good grounding in Constitutional issues, and as a result of my devotion to animals, I know a fair amount about dogs.

What inspires you to answer questions on Answers.com?

I am inspired to answer questions and to otherwise work with Answers.com as a result of my desire to share knowledge gained through education and experience of which I have had the benefit over many years. Additionally, and candidly, it pains me to see/read poorly written material, and I would be delighted to help to “raise the bar”.

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

3 thoughts on “Anacanapanastan – the Ingredient of Excellence.”

  1. Les Trois Imbeciles … a man of culture and impeccable taste is featured on NSA!The kind old lady ingested one spoonful of the Fountain of Youth potion and turned into a beautiful young woman. The mean old man, her husband and foil, ingested several spoonfuls and turned into a whining little boy. The power of anacana… cannot be denied. Kinda like Brylcreem, you know?Kudos for the work rescuing our best friends and regards for your health.

    Like

  2. Les Trois Imbeciles … a man of culture and impeccable taste is featured on NSA!The kind old lady ingested one spoonful of the Fountain of Youth potion and turned into a beautiful young woman. The mean old man, her husband and foil, ingested several spoonfuls and turned into a whining little boy. The power of anacana… cannot be denied. Kinda like Brylcreem, you know?Kudos for the work rescuing our best friends and regards for your health.

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

