To Pun or Not to Pun, that is Mikipedia.

I have to admit: I love to punish content by nailing a good punchline or two. I also love to have pun when writing up posts here on no.stupid.answers.

So, naturally, I was excited to discover that this week’s Featured Contributor has a pun-oriented sense of humor: Meet Mikipedia!

How does Mikipedia spend his time on Answers.com? By never losing sight of the bigger picture: that sharing knowledge makes the world a brighter place!

Seriously…what goes around karmas around… Here’s more:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

Mikipedia. It’s a portmanteau of Mike and Wikipedia, and reflects how (over the years) I’ve somehow managed to learn a little something about almost anything.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

I’m a Floating Supervisor; it best suits my limited time and general-knowledge bias.

What is your age?

I’m 43.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I’m unmarried, with four nephews and a niece.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I’ve lived on Long Island my entire life; but I’ve been considering a change of scene. For one thing, my odd hobby (duckpin bowling; see below) is a good 2 hours’ drive each way, even when traffic is being kind.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I spent most of my childhood reading. I still read for fun; though these days it’s more likely to be wikis and websites than novels.

What educational information would you like to share?

I received my A.S. (Associate of Science degree) in Business, magna cum laude, in 1987. Not long after that, I left college to enter the real world.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

I’ve been a Taekwondo instructor and the assistant manager of a bookstore. Currently, I’m a professional movement director (which is like a gym teacher, but for preschoolers) and I help manage a bowling alley.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

I’m the very definition of eclectic; it comes from four decades of reading anything and everything I could get my hands on. And that’s not even counting my addiction to documentary television.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

My personal library rivals some bookstores: at last count, it contains over 6,000 books, including nearly 500 manga. I also collect odd and unusual bowling pins; the oldest is from the 1920s.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I love to bowl: both standard tenpin bowling (in which I average over 210) and the much harder, and much less common, duckpin bowling (for which I travel to Connecticut once a week to bowl in a league there).

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I own my own business, the aforementioned movement program: my clients (preschools, camps, and daycare centers) hire me to come in once a week and engage the children in directed play, which helps them develop their motor skills – not to mention, showing them how much fun movin’ and groovin’ can be!

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I can read at over 1,300 words-per-minute.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I have a 3rd degree black belt in Taekwondo. And I have three perfect 300 games, the first of which was in 2001.

What are your special goals or dreams?

I’m working on my first novel, as well as a book of children’s poetry.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Quirky and something of a perfectionist; with a deep love of puns and a warped (though never malicious) sense of humor. Some of my friends call me the world’s tallest 5-year-old.

What brought you to Answers.com?

As a trivia buff, I’ve long been hooked on Answers.com’s Answer of the Day page. At the time, there was a small news feed in the corner with recently asked and recently answered questions. One day, one of the answers was so out-and-out wrong that it actually offended me; I registered to correct it, and the rest is history.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

I can share my love of general knowledge; I’ve been told I have a talent for explaining things clearly… and I even get credit for fixing any grammar and spelling mistakes I happen to spot!

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Providing correct information and correcting misinformation. Once a teacher, always a teacher, I suppose.

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

Your comments are welcome!

