A Jamming Answers.com Superstar: Timrsimpson

Our rockin’ Featured Contributor of the week is none other than Timrsimpson – an electronics master and, in our humble opinion, the “original” guitar hero. Owner of Amplifier Repair Center in Portland, Oregon, Tim was drawn to Answers.com because of “the interesting challenge of answering questions from my garbage memory.” Here is more on this outgoing, intelligent and all around wonderful Answers.com Superstar:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

Timrsimpson is my user name. It is just my e-mail without a number after it. It is my real name.

What is your first name?

Timothy

What is your age?

58

Would you care to tell us about your family?

My family is spread out. My mother lives in Boise. My oldest brother lives in NW Arkansas. My next older brother lives where he pleases and is hard to locate. My younger brother lives near Osaka where he teaches English.

Do you have any pets?

No, but I miss my cat.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in Portland Oregon where I was born. It is a great place to live. The weather is moderate, and the scenery is wonderful. I have left the area several times, but always come back.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up here. I remember a big storm on Columbus Day in the early sixties. Mount St. Helens erupting was a big event. Going to the beach.

What educational information would you like to share?

Went to school around here. I have some college, but no degrees. I received good electronics training in the Air Force.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

I have done a lot of industrial controls work. I enjoyed field service work. I now have my own repair shop where I fix guitars and musical electronics.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

Science and electronics have fascinated me from a very early age. People gave me electronic junk which I fixed or modified. We had Encyclopedia Britannia or Google at your fingertips. I have played music since I was five – piano then cello. When I got a guitar I was hooked. I still play and go out to jam a lot.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I collect guitars and amps. Right now I only have six guitars and three amps, but I am building two guitars and three amps.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I play my guitar. I can sing and try to imitate the singer who made the song.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I don’t drive a car. I have no depth perception and driving could be dangerous. Since I lived in Japan I have slept on the floor. I had a heart condition which has passed thanks to the V.A. I just entered a contest to design a sensor for a Mars landing; a swarm of sensors that relay gathered information.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I enjoy teaching and will be teaching a college class in tube amplifier construction this summer.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

My homemade guitars.

What are your special goals or dreams?

I recently started on my lifelong want of a degree in electrical engineering. I will start this summer getting a grasp on higher math. I would like to go to Zappas’ guitar camp in N.Y. this summer for a week, but cannot afford it.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I am pretty easy going. I enjoy learning new things. I enjoy fixing things.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

The hope that answering the questions will help. I like to make the questioner go further and seek more information.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Reading the nonsense questions, the ones without a subject. Trying to rewrite a question so it can be answered. Trashing the bad questions and answers.

One thought on “A Jamming Answers.com Superstar: Timrsimpson”

  1. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation but I find this topic
    to be actually one thing which I think I might never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very huge for me. I am taking a look ahesd in your subsequent submit,
    I’ll try to get the hang of it!

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

