All Hail Morten Brendefur!

Direct from the Kingdom of Denmark hails our regal Featured Contributor of the Week, Morten Brendefur. A Supervisor and Bronze Contributor, Morten proves that “curiosity” does not kill the cat, it actually brings you to the wonderful world of Answers.com. Here’s more…

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

My user name is simply my full name: Morten Brendefur. That way I do not forget it and, at the same time, I do not run away from a problem, nor do I try to give false information. If I were to choose another nickname this would probably be Gandalf White. I have been thinking about having it changed, but then again I am much happy with just being myself.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

I am at the moment a Floating Supervisor. Issues regarding children, age of consent and the related laws do, however, interest me quite a bit. I also enjoy most questions where there are actual factual answers. They are often easier to research.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I live in Denmark with my girlfriend. She has two boys ages 11 and 15. I have three kids from a previous marriage. All boys, ages 12, 14 and 16. Children have always been very important to me.

Do you have any pets?

We have three rabbits back home and two degus (tiny rat like creatures with fur on their tails). Two of the rabbits are possibly expecting kittens at the moment and the “family” might soon be 10-20 more rabbits.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in Denmark in a small area/town named Nørager (Noerager). I have lived here for five years now. I quite like this area because it is small. We do not have enormous amounts of traffic. There are a lot of green areas around and even some forest. In summertime when cherries are ripening, you may find me in the forest 20 meters above ground eating cherries. People say I am crazy and I agree. I am crazy about cherries.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up on a small island named Jomfruland just off the coast of the city Kragerø (Krageroe) in the southern part of Norway. This was a most nice environment to grow up in, although it made the school-road a bit long. We had to walk to the harbour and then catch a boat. Then it was another walk from the next harbour to the school. All a bit tiresome.

I loved living on an island though and learned to swim at an early age. I started scuba diving, and every summer I really enjoyed catching stone crabs and flatfish. Stone crabs is my favourite food.

What educational information would you like to share?

I have nine years of schooling. I started one year early at age six in Norway. I have “only” three years of further education (college) where I specialized in computers and electronics. I have engaged in various education pursuits since, but always feel that I lack knowledge. I have “diploma” in first aid and safety precautions regarding oil rigs in the North Sea.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

I started working in a kindergarten. It was simply great. But somehow I felt that men in this line of work were very at risk due to some cases of pedophilia in Norway where one man was wrongly accused and spent many years in prison for something all the children have denied later.

I looked to other areas and started off on my own with repairing and making all sorts of low voltage electronics and repairing computers. A few years (six of them to be exact) of doing this without really making enough money I started welding. I earned several certificates for this and traveled the world for a year or so. I have been involved in special welding projects from Norway to Philadelphia. I have also worked at an old folks home in Denmark and enjoyed that.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

I have always sought information in order to know why things work the way they do. In the beginning my grandfather, was incredibly helpful. He never turned down a question although quite a few of them gave him many gray hairs. My father has also been great support, actually encouraging much of what I have made and done. He was not so pleased when I went wild with a chainsaw cutting down dead trees in the garden at a young age. Somehow I understand him now that I have children of my own. Computers and electronics is probably my key area. This is logical.

One of my professions and hobbies is actually Graphic Designer, and I have used Corel PhotoPaint and Corel Draw extensively in making all sort of printed works for a print shop. I have been working with Corel Draw the last 15 years side-by-side with everything else. It has been a pleasure making calendars for the local Red Cross every year the last ten years or so. I also know most anything there is to know about different digitalized formats of film and photo. Proper in depth knowledge!

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

Electronics. I have an extensive collection of various chips and components. Computer programming. Welding (especially Tig).

What do you like to do for recreation?

Scuba Diving, reading cartoons. I love reading Neil Gaiman cartoons. Going camping on a desolate island finding/fishing/hunting my own food. Life cannot be better than that during summertime. I do enjoy music though and bring my MP3 player along. And no, I did not make the MP3 player myself.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

Argumentative when needed. Fact oriented. Sexual, not left, not right, straight forward. Enjoy computers and electronics (I find these to be logical contrary to some women. LOL) German, English, Polish, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic. I love languages and have great fun figuring out new words and new idioms. I prefer English to my native language Norwegian. I am somewhat weird in a positive way (hopefully).

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I am quite good with programming. Started off with Basic on a CBM 64. This quickly developed into Borland Turbo Pascal. Now I do mostly Borland Delphi. I am personally building electronics to link up to a computer with software I am developing myself. I am currently making an oscilloscope (200 Mhz) just for the pleasure of actually making one.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I was one of those kids at school that always looked for difficult things to do rather than the easy bits. In electronics class I designed electronics on paper that were so advanced that I was not allowed by the teacher to actually build it. I have made programs in several programming-languages. Some of my routines for sorting data are among the fastest there are in the world. It may not be an accomplishment if one looks at theories for doing this first, but I developed my own programs with no prior knowledge. I have developed various electronics, but not yet been able to mass produce and sell. My greatest accomplishment, however, was having children. They mean the world to me and make me proud every day.

What are your special goals or dreams?

I would really love being able to work with what I enjoy. I would love to bring my electronics forward a bit and actually make money on that. I have a dream of spending a few weeks in America with my family. My first goal would be to earn a bit of money first.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Difficult question. Autodidact. I enjoy a good decent argument, but I never fight over subjects where I do not have any factual information. Hmmm. Or do I? I can fight quite a battle over some issues where common sense disagrees with the law. I am a calm person and do not fire up easily (although some people might disagree with that).

What kept you coming back to Answers.com?

Increased curiosity, nice community, answers to write and opinions to give.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Answering questions is probably what I enjoy the most. The site is a great resource for the entire world, and I love helping this become even better. Answers.com features a wonderful community where everybody is in a win-win situation. I just wish this tool had been available when I was younger and at school.

2 thoughts on “All Hail Morten Brendefur!”

Your comments are welcome!

