Santa can have his reindeer – we are keeping HelperElf!

We have a great deal of respect and admiration for the man known as Santa Claus.

But when one of his elves goes astray and lands smack dab in the land known as Answers.com, Santa might have a hard time getting his little helper back. In fact, we have decided to keep this most wonderful contributor. Sorry Santa! We cannot possibly part with our beloved HelperElf.

And here is why:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

HelperElf is my user name. I registered close to Christmas time, and I wanted to help so I thought of Helper and Elf, which is for Santas helper Elves.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

I’m a Category Supervisor of Houseplants, Opera, Styles of Music, Country Music, Rock Music, Utah, eBay, PayPal, Musical Movies, Porn Addiction, African Violets, Jealousy and Poodles.

What other badges do you hold on Answers.com?

Mentor
Copy Editor
Vandal Patrol as an Alternates Specialist

What is your first name?

Nancy

What is your age?

I am 61 years young.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I have a wonderful, thoughtful, loving husband. We have been married for 41 years and started dating each other when I was 16 and he was18. We have two grown sons.

Do you have any pets?

We have two cats and one poodle dog (you can see a picture of them on my bio page).

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

We have lived in Utah now for one year and really love it here because the mountains and scenery are just gorgeous.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I was born in South Gate, California in the Los Angeles area. When I was seven, my family moved to Reseda, California where I grew up. Larry and I married, and then we moved to Simi Valley, California where we raised our family. I grew up in a very close loving family atmosphere.

What educational information would you like to share?

I have my high school diploma. I went to beauty college and received a diploma and license. I also took many college music classes (no degree though) including piano and private voice lessons for 10 years.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

I have worked in many different areas. When our kids were young I babysat at home. I am a retired licensed hair dresser (beautician). I went to beauty college straight out of high school. I have also worked in retail sales, in a florist shop and had my own African violet business for eight years. Now, I am retired from the working community and taking care of my husband, pets, house stuff and wiki-ing away on Answers.com.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

I love to figure out things and need to understand the why and how of what makes things work. I like to know I am doing things the right way, and If I am not I want be told so I can learn to do it the right way. I need organization in my life otherwise items can get lost or hard to deal with. I love to work on many things at one time. I am highly motivated by Answers.com and strive to learn as much as I can. I want my categories to eventually be nicely organized (I am still working on some of them) with proper spelling, grammar, etc. I love wiki-ing with the users; I am grateful for all I have met and will meet. I enjoy Answers.com so much I cannot even begin to tell you. At first when I joined I liked it, but now, it is like I have a whole new purpose in life. I feel needed (everyone needs to feel needed). I get to use my organization skills and other skills. I get to meet and talk to very smart, professional people. I get to help teens and chat with them. I get to teach which I love dearly!!!! Most importantly, I am learning something that is a hard lesson sometimes, and that is to let other people have their own opinion, too. My opinion is not always right or even true. I am learning to control my temper and emotions. Wow! There are so many users whom I have learned from, right from the start; too many to list. Those people know who they are anyway. Thank you for your patience with me.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

We have a rock collection that includes sandstone, moqui balls, crystals, minerals, boji stones (healing crystals) and pets. LOL

What do you like to do for recreation?

We like to go hiking in the deserts of Utah; off roading is so much fun! We play with our pets. Larry and I talk to each other a lot. I also enjoy my laptop computer that I am on, most of the day.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I am a Christian (I belong to the Mormon, LDS church). I love people. I am very much against pornography; it can ruin a marriage, relationships and a whole life really.

Do you have any special talents you would like to share?

I can sing and multi-task. I am detailed and a great communicator, because I have good instincts.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

Finally having a very close relationship with my husband; as he is now my best friend, lover, teacher, provider and partner. Relationships (good relationships) are not easy sometimes.

What are your special goals or dreams?

One of my goals is to be happy 90 percent of the time so I can be a better wife to my husband.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Critical of myself, very detailed oriented. I am nice, have strict morals, very motivated and a hard worker. I do not like to make mistakes but I am learning that I do not have to do everything perfectly. This is challenge for me, but I do not expect other people to be perfect.

What brought you to Answers.com?

I was searching for some information on the Internet and WikiAnswers came up. I read the answer and noticed there was a spelling error that I just had to fix. So I researched the site a little and decided to register so I could edit the word. That is how it all began for me.

What kept you coming back to Answers.com?

Honestly, what kept me coming back in the beginning was a deep depression problem I have, and I am still fighting (but it is getting much better). It keeps my mind focused on volunteering my time to help someone else and stop thinking about my own problems so much.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

I guess my favorite activity is working with Alternates. I also, love editing, spelling, grammar and rewriting answers.

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.





2 thoughts on “Santa can have his reindeer – we are keeping HelperElf!”

Your comments are welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s