Dedicated to LeftCoastMom.

(band starts to play)

From shore to shore and points far beyond,
We have amazing contributors on Answers.com.
They’re merging magicians and category pros,
Answering wonders and true editing maestros.
But today it’s all about one dedicated gal,
A contributor who is simply superfantasterifical.
So please be seated and try to remain calm,
Say hello to our Featured Contributor, LeftCoastMom.

(drum roll fades into background)

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

I have lived in California for much of my life and using LeftCoastMom makes people have to think about it for a second.

What is your first name?

Cath.

What is your age?

Half a century; wow that sounds old when put that way. How did that happen?

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I am married and have three kids; the youngest is in college working on a culinary degree, as she wants to be a chef. In the middle is my only son. He works for a company that tests soil and is getting married this summer to a lovely young lady who works with at-risk teens. My firstborn works for non-profit organizations. Currently she is a troop organizer for Girl Scouts of America. She is married to a police officer, and they are having my first grandchild in July.

Do you have any pets?

Max the Wonder Dog is my 6-year-old pit bull; he is amazing and the sweetest dog you’ll ever meet. He is wonderful with children. We also have two cats: Spot (who is a cranky old lady) and Wednesday who is a 1-year-old who thinks she is a dog. She and Max make us laugh all the time with their crazy antics.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I currently live in the High Desert, Arizona. We moved here five years ago. Now we are working on returning to Southern California.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

We moved frequently when I was young. The first time was when I was 3-weeks-old; to the capital of our nation, Washington DC. My only memory of DC is the park my mother used to take us to at the DC Zoo. We also lived in Massachusetts (where I was born and returned to when I was two and a half), New Hampshire, Virginia Beach, Virginia and finally to California where we settled. I have lived in about ten different places in Southern California, between Los Angeles and Ventura County, until coming to the desert five years ago.

What educational information would you like to share?

I went to Mount St Mary’s College in Los Angeles for a degree in Nursing and Valley Medical in the LA basin (the campus has since moved to the main campus), where I studied optics, later becoming a licensed optician.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

I started out working in maternal health, either the new born nursery or obstetrics. I had planned on becoming a Certified Nurse Midwife, but plans changed and instead I returned to school and became an optician. Since moving to Arizona, I have not worked outside the home. Rather, I started following the Caylee Anthony story and have since written for several online news sites, reporting crimes against children and a series on animal abuse in Pennsylvania.

What are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

I answer a lot of questions in Womens Health, Teens and Sex. Also the questions in Pregnancy, but I kinda bounce around a bit.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

Reading for pleasure and research
Photography
Water painting, is a newer activity I am learning.

What do you like to do for recreation?

Camping, traveling, watching my kids participate in sports, playing cribbage and backgammon

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I drive a Mini Cooper. I love 2-year-olds! They are without ego and, since they don’t have an edit button yet, they are completely honest. I used to help out occasionally at a friend’s balloon shop. One day a lady came in and hired all of us to deliver a cake, gifts and balloons to her husband who worked on a submarine at the local military base. Dressed up as Smurfettes (those little blue cartoon characters with long white hair)!

I was a Girl Scout for almost 25 years; first as a Brownie when I was six, then as a leader or co-leader for both of my daughters. They are ten years apart in age, so I was able to really spread it out.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I once put on a spaghetti dinner for 700 or 800 people! It began as a Family Fun Nite at my kids elementary school and ended up being a fundraiser after I was able to get of all the food, dinnerware and cooking donated in addition to all the ticket sales; so we were able to present the school with a chunk of change as well as having a great time. So I guess that talent is begging money from people for a good cause.

I also practiced Guided Imagery, a method of relaxation; when my kids were young I made some relaxation tapes for my daughters to use.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

All three of my kids are incredible people. I would never try to claim full responsibility for this, but I figure I had something to do with it. I have always made time for volunteer work, usually something to do with children.

What brought you to Answers.com?

A question I think….

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

The feeling of working on a project with so many incredible people, from all over the world and because I finally have the title Super (LC) Mom and being able to tell my (grownup) kids and friends that I am a Sexpert just to watch the looks they immediately pass back and forth.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Answering questions and I do some occasional cleaning up.

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

3 thoughts on “Dedicated to LeftCoastMom.”

  1. HEY!!!!!!!!!!!! First of all yahoo answers stinks. Unless u have a yahoo account, u can't use it. Answers.com is at least open to they public. And, by posting that comment, ur arrogance shines through. And r u calling me nobody, cause I think, “it's such a great sight”. It's true u can only right one sentence but if ur smart enough (unlike u) u can make ur 1 sentence answer descriptive. So why don't u just shut up.

    Like

  2. Thought I would check out your website and compare it to Yahoo Answers. Yahoo wins, hands down. Your sight only has a one sentence question, it is very cold and impersonal, the responses are very vague and the staff is rude and unprofessional. Its like you are being choked when visiting your sight, whereas Yahoo is more “comfortable” and homey. I have no idea how you think yours is the number 1 sight for information. That, I will never know. So, maybe amongst your “good ole boys club” or this member page I am writing this comment on, you all think its such a great sight, but the rest of us do not. It is also my observation, that again, there is usually one sentence questions. How in the world can you give a quality answer with so few details? And I keep seeing supervisors popping up bashing contributors who are doing their best to respond with so few details, it is almost impossible. So, in my opinion, you need to rethink the manner in which you run this website. Loosen up a little. But hey, your arrogance shines through, so I doubt that will ever happen.

    Like

    1. HEY!!!!!!!!!!!! First of all yahoo answers stinks. Unless u have a yahoo account, u can't use it. Answers.com is at least open to they public. And, by posting that comment, ur arrogance shines through. And r u calling me nobody, cause I think, “it's such a great sight”. It's true u can only right one sentence but if ur smart enough (unlike u) u can make ur 1 sentence answer descriptive. So why don't u just shut up.

      Like

Your comments are welcome!

