Our Lucky Shamrock: Paul The Irishman

With St. Patrick’s Day having just passed us by, it was only fitting to spotlight our very own lucky shamrock in this week’s Contributor Corner. Meet Paul The Irishman! Although he grew up in and near Wagga Wagga in southern New South Wales, Australia, Paul now resides near Youghal in County Cork in Ireland – “quite near the sea on the southern coast.” He goes on to say, “We have lived in this area about 8 years since the self-build of our house. The area is quiet countryside, yet only a few minutes to civilisation.” Well, it’s certainly the luck of the Irish that Answers.com is now Paul The Irishman’s home away from home.

Here’s more:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

Paul The Irishman – which represents my first name and the fact that I am now an Irishman, although I was born and raised in Australia.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I have a wife of 18 years and 3 teenage daughters.

Do you have any pets?

We have hamsters, guinea pigs and goldfish thanks to my daughters.

What educational information would you like to share?

I started a civil engineering degree, but after some work placement in the 3rd year decided that surveying was more my style. So I qualified as a Land and Engineering Surveyor in Sydney.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

In the past I have also worked as a furniture maker, carpenter, factory production line worker and even delivered newspapers every morning for years whilst putting myself through college.

What are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

Land and engineering surveying is my key area of expertise. I have served as both VP and President of The Irish Institution of Surveyors, and I also appear in court as an Expert Witness in Surveying on a regular basis. Since 1995 I have been a partner in one of Ireland’s oldest surveying firms. Land surveying is a mix of indoor and outdoor work, complicated by the need to be part bushman, archaeologist, historian, lawyer and general jack of all trades and I have been doing it ever since and really enjoy the challenge.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

There is my coin collection, a collection of classic and vintage cars, carpentry, building, learning and speaking French and playing traditional Irish music with a tenor banjo and mandolin.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I am a ferocious reader of anything and everything fiction and non-fiction. Gardening, the old cars and music also come into play.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I’m left handed and proud! Worked in 4 countries and visited almost 30 more.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

Math and word puzzles intrigue me, and I find few that get the best of me.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

Apart from my wife and children, self-building our current house and being President of the Irish Institution of Surveyors.

What are your special goals or dreams?

Dreams? To win the lottery of course…

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Probably tenacious, loyal and a stickler for the truth.

What brought you to Answers.com?

Annoyance and such bad grammar and foolish questions.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

I enjoy fixing things and I like to learn new things each day. Even correcting questions, you learn things every day.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Looking at the “New Questions” category and getting in early…. lol!

2 thoughts on “Our Lucky Shamrock: Paul The Irishman”

  1. I was thru your town last August when I was visiting family in Cork. Lovely place, I too am left handed and love working the cross words.

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

