A Recipe for Greatness: Petera88

On Answers.com, you’ll find doctors, dentists, arborists, lawyers, cosmetologists and even the occasional burgomaster or tidewaiter (go ahead, look em’ up!). This week, however, we are presenting ye’ with a recipe for greatness – Petera88 – one of our resident Chef superstars!

Bon appétit!

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

My user name is Petera88 and, quite simply, it is made up of my name (Peter Alton) and my favourite number (8).

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor (which categories)?

I am a Category Supervisor supervising Individual Ingredients, Spices and Herbs, Ingredient Substitutions and China and Chinese Territories.

What other badges do you hold on Answers.com?

I am a Bronze Contributor.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I am married to Eden, and we have a young son Christian who is 2-years-old.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

We live in Portsmouth on the South Coast of the United Kingdom. We have lived here for the last 2 years and love the peace and quiet and friendly neighbourhood.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up in Waterlooville and have great memories of home cooked dinners with my Mum.

What educational information would you like to share?

I studied Professional Cookery at Highbury College when I left school gaining a Distinction in my final year. I also passed a BA Degree in English Literature in 2007 after 6 years part-time study with the Open University.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I am a qualified Chef and have worked in the industry for 25 years – working in the UK and away at sea in the Merchant Navy for P&O. I am currently a Fresh Food Buyer supplying Fresh Produce to several of the major supermarkets in the UK.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interest or expertise?

Having trained as a Chef, I have a love of food. I enjoy cooking and read anything food related. I like Asian food and, in particular, the food of Hong Kong, which is amongst the best in the world. I love Hong Kong having been there many times and also having met and married my wife there. I am also currently writing a book about the food and culture of Hong Kong, which I hope to complete later this year.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I enjoy cooking and reading anything to do with Asia or Hong Kong.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I enjoy playing with my son and watching sports as I am getting too old to play anymore!

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I had a trial for England Schoolboys and played rugby for Hampshire as a boy. I am a big fan of Alice Cooper. I can speak a little Cantonese.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

Qualifying as a Chef in 1984 and passing my degree 23 years later.

What are your special goals or dreams?

To make my Mum and Dad proud and to be happy and healthy and to have a good life with my wife and son.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I am easygoing and warmhearted.

What brought you to Answers.com?

The desire to share knowledge and help others.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

The fun of meeting and helping new friends from all over the world.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

I enjoy answering questions and discovering new things.

Your comments are welcome!

