Three Cheers for 4Jays!

Once upon a very long time ago, I was a cheerleader. And of course, everyone knows it’s the job of a cheerleader to pump up the crowd and get them standing on their feet. So pull out your pom poms and get ready to cheer for this week’s Featured Contributor: Give me a J. Give me a J. Give me a J. Give me a J. No. I haven’t gone wacky for the letter J. I’m just giddy because this Contributor Corner rock star is 4Jays (Get it?). He’s a Floating Supervisor, Gold Contributor and Mentoring Program graduate who once worked at Walt Disney World as a monorail driver! Wut wut? Yep. Read on for more:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

4Jays refers to the first names of my family members: Jeff (me), Julie (wife) and two daughters, Jessica and Jennifer. Once we started with the J’s there was no turning back!

What is your first name?

Jeff

What is your age?

50

Would you care to tell us about your family?

Wonderful wife and two lovely daughters.

Do you have any pets?

Two Westies (Scruffy and Sophie) and a cat (Stormy).

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

We live in Maryland, about 20 miles from Washington, D.C. Our families are all within an hour’s driving time, and that’s a great thing, especially around the holidays.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I was born in Frankfurt, West Germany and lived in Munich for about three years before coming to the U.S. in 1961.

What educational information would you like to share?

I attended James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I once worked at Walt Disney World – I was a monorail driver. Ever since, I’ve joked with my subsequent employers that I’ve gone from one Mickey Mouse organization to another. I became a police officer and served 22 years, retiring in 2004 as a commander. I took one week off, then took a job at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland where I still work.

What are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

I have a love of all things automotive and an interest in movies, television and the Internet. I enjoy proofreading and seem to have a knack for it which I try to put to good use on Answers.com.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

Cars and computers are my hobbies.

What do you like to do for recreation?

Swim and travel

What are a few random facts about yourself?

6’4″ tall. I memorized Pi to 22 places in grade school to get extra credit for a class. I remember it to this day.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I am an emergency vehicle driving instructor, scuba diver and writer.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

My family.

What are your special goals or dreams?

Continue to move up in my workplace and retire in good health.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Outgoing with good humor.

What brought you to Answers.com?

I began when I looked for an answer, then found myself correcting grammar and spelling errors. After a while I received an email from Answers.com asking if I’d like to be a Supervisor, based upon my contributions.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

It’s very satisfying to contribute to providing helpful information to such a large and diverse audience. I have much to learn about the intricacies of being a good Supervisor but I look forward to the challenge. Additionally, there have been some great folks here who have been very supportive and helpful to me.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Correcting grammar and spelling errors and providing informative answers whenever I can.

2 thoughts on “Three Cheers for 4Jays!”

Your comments are welcome!

