ModernMode: Celebrating a Classic Answers.com Contributor

This week’s Featured Contributor is a diehard classic movie lover. Ironic, because he “himself” is considered a classic on Answers.com – well-known and respected in the community – and we sure do love him. If you haven’t guessed by now, it’s Mark – otherwise known as ModernMode. And this week we are here to celebrate his excellence to all things answers and long-time dedication to the cause of sharing knowledge freely with the world!

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

ModernMode – It just came to me one day while trying to think of a good name.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

Floating, but I spend most of my time in the Movies and Classic Movies categories.

What other badges do you hold on Answers.com?

Silver Contributor

What is your age?

47

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I’m married, no children.

Do you have any pets?

We have four cats, two adopted as strays from our doorstep and two adopted from our county animal shelter.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

Lifelong resident of Winston-Salem, NC. We’re a few hours from the mountains, a few hours from the ocean. We get snow, but not enough to be sick of it.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

When I was 5 years old, my mother asked me what I wanted for Christmas. I showed her an entire page of construction equipment toys in the Sears catalog. She explained to me that I couldn’t have the entire page, so I picked out a Buddy L red metal dump truck. I still have that truck today (though it’s only displayed, not played with LOL).

What educational information would you like to share?

BA degree.

What are some of your past and present occupations?

Currently unemployed. I have sold jewelry, electronics, was assistant manager of a drug store, worked for an insurance company, worked for a bank, worked at the home office of a doughnut company.

What is your key area of knowledge, interests or expertise?

Movies. I have always been interested in films and television. I love Turner Classic Films. No matter how many films I’ve seen, there is always one coming on that I’m not familiar with. I have taken some classes on old films such as those of Charlie Chaplin.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I have every Hallmark Star Trek ship ornament ever produced. A small collection of Old World Christmas Santa Lights, some unopened complementary packs of cigarettes that were given out to employees of a tobacco company my father worked at, Frito Lay erasers that were put in packages of Fritos in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s.

What do you like to do for recreation?

Watch old movies of course.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

At various times of my life I have met Red Skelton, MLB hall of famer Gaylord Perry and NASCAR champion Richard Petty.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I am not an outgoing person, but was made the jury foreman in a Federal court case. It was a good experience.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Very shy around people I don’t know.

What brought you to Answers.com?

I saw it referenced somewhere else and checked it out.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

I truly enjoy answering and organizing the questions.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

When someone posts a question about some movie they saw 20 years ago, can only remember some of the plot but not the title. I find it fulfilling to be able to dig around and answer their question.

Your comments are welcome!

