Does Mathdoc have a prescription for Wikidiction?

Is there a cure for wikiholicism? For that strong wikidiction that keeps you up at night and leaves you longing for more? C’mon. You know what I’m talking about… The urge to recategorize, revert and edit when you should be working, eating, sleeping or spending time with your significant other. So is there a remedy? My guess is probably not because even our resident M.D.s have found the insatiable appetite for sharing knowledge incurable. Our Featured Contributor of the week knows all too well what I’m talking about. He’s MathdocAnswers.com contributorship at its finest. But like the rest of us, he is verifiably addicted. Don’t believe me? Read on to discover the name of his daughter’s dog… (and other interesting tidbits and noteworthy accomplishments!)

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

My Answers.com user name is Mathdoc. I am a pediatrician and also a college math teacher. Put them together and you have me, MATHDOC.

What other badges do you hold on Answers.com?

I have my gold badge, my runner-up AnswerThon badge and my 10,000 contributions badge. I hope to get 1,000 trust points! I am also a mentor.

What is your first name?

My first name is Charles, but I go by Chuck. Charles was what my parents called me when I was in trouble, so I avoid it.

What is your age?

I am 51.

Would you like to tell us about your family?

I have two wonderful kids, a 24-year-old (Justin), who lives in San Diego, and a 21-year-old (Melanie), who lives at home. My 21-year-old named her dog, YES! YOU GUESSED IT, WIKI! (Wiki is Weimaraner). Melanie is working on her English credential. I have a wonderful wife named Judy who loves to bake. I am working on getting her to answer more baking questions.

Do you have any pets?

I have a dog named Echo. We call her that because she is kind of hyper and bounces off the walls. My wife has a dog name Hunter and, of course, now you know about Wiki, my daughter’s dog. Echo and Hunter are Springer Spaniels.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in Southern California, Northridge to be specific. Many people know it for the large Northridge Earthquake. (January 17, 1994 at 4:31 AM)

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up in Southern California (born in Los Angeles). I have always loved math and science. One of my favorite things I did growing up was rock collecting.

What educational information would you like to share?

I went to (undergrad) college at U.C. San Diego in California. Then I went to Med School at the George Washington University in Washington D.C. I got my Masters in Science in Mathematics at California State University Northridge.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I am a pediatrician (medical doctor) and a mathematician. I teach math at Moorpark Community College.

What are your key areas of knowledge, interests or expertise?

I love math, science, medicine and trivia. Love to watch Jeopardy.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

A long time ago, I collected Beanie Babies. I still have them since they are worth just about nothing now. I collected pennies to and have all the US pennies. I also collect rocks.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I have a 220-gallon salt water reef tank filled with corals and fish. It takes tons of work almost every day, but I love it and it looks amazing!

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I am pretty much tone deaf. When I sing you better RUN, but I love music and I do try. I love the movie The Wizard of Oz. It is my all-time favorite. I also love country and oldies music.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

Keeping my salt water reef tank with many rare corals from all over the world.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I am proud of my masters in math and proud to be able to help people learn and understand it. Also, as a doctor, I saw some problems with the HMO system, and I actually wrote legislation which was passed and signed into law by the Governor of California. I am a member of a union for doctors. Here is a quote from them:

“Charles D. Goodman, M.D., a pediatrician from Los Angeles County, was elected as the UAPD Secretary. During the past few years, Dr. Goodman helped to write and pass state legislation protecting the interests of HMO patients and doctors. He is an effective advocate for the rights of doctors. ”

I am no longer Secretary, but still an active Union member!

I was also a PADI dive instructor for many years. I don’t do it anymore, but I love SCUBA.

What are your special goals or dreams?

I would love to help more people love and understand math.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I am very outgoing, often loud. I am a GIANT practical joker. I consider myself a very fun person; often people say I am very “childlike”. Probably a good thing for a pediatrician!

What brought you to Answers.com?

I was looking up something and found the answer on Answers.com. I knew right away it was a great place and a “class act.”

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

I love the questions. They are always fun and interesting. Also, I love getting feedback. The other Supers especially Matthew (Brave3) have always been good to me. In fact, I have ENORMOUS respect for all the Supervisors here. They are a dedicated, great group and, I always enjoy talking to them, each and every one!

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Answering questions. I love the math questions, but sometimes I just love to look at the main page and answer some of the random unanswered questions.

12 thoughts on “Does Mathdoc have a prescription for Wikidiction?”

  1. what special advice will u give a student from cameroon on entering ur university to study maths and will u help this student?

    Like

  2. since 2 years, i have been admirig ur talents and its suprising to note that u still have passion for maths.i have the same age as ur relation with dr goodman

    Like

  3. I have known Dr. goodman now for about 15 years He was once my pedicatrican and now he takes care of my children. He is a Big kid with a big heart and we all love him he is a great person alround . As well we are lucky to have him in our lifes

    Like

  4. Having known Chuck for about five years, I’m not at all surprised that he suffers from this addiction ! He is one of the busiest people I know, yet he always has time to answer a question or offer advice. He is a Southern California boy with a heart as big as Texas. I consider myself lucky to call him my friend.

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

