You can best believe that he’s: MountainMan391

Mountain, mountain man! I wanna’ be a mountain man! Okay, so the lyrics might be a little bit off – but this week’s Featured Contributor is certainly not. He’s MountainMan391 (a/k/a Keith) – a Category Supervisor, Bronze Contributor and one of Answers.com’s rockin’ knowledge ninjas (or is that pirate?)! When he is not busy spending time in the wild outdoors, field herping or winning prestigious contests for model rockets, you can find him watching over Norse Mythology or just fixing some of the grammar and spelling blunders that sometimes pop up on Recent Site Activity. Here’s more on our very own MountainMan391:

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

My user name on Answers.com is MountainMan391; it derives from a nickname that I received from my friends. You see, I have a beard and I spend a lot of time out in the woods, so they think that I look and act a lot like a 19th Century mountain man. The name just kind of stuck.

Do you have any pets?

Yes, I currently have two dogs, two cats, a red rat snake and a green anole lizard

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in the small rural town of Pequea, Pennsylvania and have for about four years. Some of my friends make jokes about me living in the “boondocks“, but, as a huge outdoorsman, I am absolutely in love with the area. I get to wake-up to the sight of the beautiful Susquehanna River right outside of my window; sometimes even to the sight of a bald eagle swooping down and catching a fish from the water. I live within a 20 minute hike to a magnificent limestone cliff named House Rock, a cavern called Wind Cave and a trail system that reaches all the way to Baltimore, MD. What’s more, I’m within an hour, by car, of the Chesapeake Bay. There are only two other places where I would want to live: the Colorado Rocky Mountains and the Alaskan wilderness.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up in a semi-urban town right outside of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania named Lemoyne. However, I do not have many special memories of the place.

What is your key area of knowledge, interest or expertise?

My greatest passion in life is the great outdoors, and I became interested in it when I first moved here to Pequea. Before this town, I’ve always lived in an urban environment. I think the reason why I love being out in the woods so much is just the freedom and sense of calm and peace that I get from it.

I also love studying Norse culture and mythology, mainly for religious reasons; I follow a religion called Ásatrú (or Nordisk Siðr), the revival of the beliefs and practices of ancient, pre-Christian Scandinavia.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I don’t have any collections, but I do have plenty of hobbies: hiking, camping, hunting, fishing, canoeing, spelunking, animal watching, field herping, model rocketry and making pyrotechnics, to name a few.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I am obsessive compulsive when it comes to proper grammar and spelling, so called “text-talk” really bothers me; and my predominantly dark-brown beard has a random patch of red in it, LOL.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

Well, I was a national finalist in the Team America Rocketry Challenge, the largest model rocket contest in the world, for three years in a row. The final year, my team came in 15th place out of 700 teams.

What are your special goals or dreams?

I don’t have too many, but I am working on obtaining a Bachelor of Science degree in environmental biology, and I would love to someday own a cabin in Alaska.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I consider myself a pretty open-minded and approachable guy; I love to learn new things. However, I do have my limits, and I will stand loyal to my values, my gods, my family and my friends.

What brought you to Answers.com?

I was looking for an online community of sorts, where I could learn new things and contribute what I know.

Your comments are welcome!

