Math + Teacher + Guy = MathTeacherGuy on Answers.com!

What do you get when you add a worldwide community of intelligent, awesome contributors to a nifty wiki Q&A platform? Answers.com of course! And one of these rockin’ digits happens to be our Featured Contributor of the Week. He’s MathTeacherGuy – a Floating Supervisor and Bronze Contributor who divides his time on the site between categories such as Math, History and Education, among others. He has an impressive formula for answering interesting (and often difficult) questions and the power to come up with great a solution for keeping things fair and balanced. To sum it up, MathTeacherGuy always equals greatness!

What is your Answers.com user name and the history behind it?

I use the name MathTeacherGuy because my last regular job was teaching math (middle school and high school).

What is your first name?

Gerald

What is your age?

54

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I am married and have a daughter in college. My wife is a nurse and my daughter is a film studies major.

Do you have any pets?

We had a dog, but she is gone now, and we are thinking about getting another.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I have lived in the Silicon Valley/South Bay area for more than 30 years. I like this area very much, except that it seems awfully crowded now.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up in and around Seattle, Washington. Sometimes I miss it, but then I remember the months upon months of gray, damp weather.

What educational information would you like to share?

I have attended college in my teens, 20s, 30s, 40s and 50s. I have an Associate’s degree in Electronics Engineering, a Bachelor’s degree in Management, a Master’s in Business Administration and a teaching credential in Mathematics.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

Electronics technician, electronics manufacturing engineer, new products program manager, web tools program manager, tutor, teacher.

What are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

It seems like I have done quite a lot of different things. I have lots of different interests. Usually I focus intensely on one thing for awhile and then move on to a new interest.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

Photography is my biggest hobby. One unusual thing that I do as a hobby is photograph grave markers and publish them on a genealogy site. Sometimes I also transcribe archived records for another genealogy site.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I bicycle and hike in the hills.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I’m about 90% bald. I could lose 20 pounds. I was only a few days too young for the Vietnam-era draft. I was a paperboy in the late 60s, and I used to read the whole paper, every day.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

I enjoy digital photography and wish that I could use it on WikiAnswers. I guess I could link answers that need a drawing or photo to my Flickr web site. Definitely not singing, or dancing. I can’t play a musical instrument. I do work on the sound and light team at church.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I helped start operations at two Silicon Valley companies, both of which had successful initial public offerings and both employed lots of people. This gives me a great feeling of satisfaction that I contributed something of value.

What are your special goals or dreams?

Most of my special goals and dreams are far beyond the realms of reasonable probability. I would like to see a lot more of the world.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Sometimes I am Eeyore (from Winnie the Pooh); sometimes I am Wally (from Dilbert); sometimes I am Yoda (from Star Wars).

What brought you to Answers.com?

I like a chance to help people out.

What keeps you coming back to Answers.com?

I enjoy a challenging question and the chance to answer it in a way that suits me. I like fair and balanced answers to complex questions.

What is your favorite Answers.com activity?

Surfing for a really good question that is thought-provoking and causes me to do a few minutes of research to check my own accuracy; that’s the best.

Your comments are welcome!

