The Revival of Lazarus1950

WikiAnswers is a lot of things to a lot of truly amazing people. For me, it represents community and a project that means so much more than what lies on the surface. But recently, I heard one of the most fascinating things I have ever heard anyone say about WikiAnswers; that it “represents a rebirth” for them. The synonyms are truly powerful: awakening, comeback, renewal, resurrection… This is what WikiAnswers means to our wonderful featured contributor Lazarus1950. Here’s to him and to new beginnings:

What is your WikiAnswers user name and the history behind it?

Lazarus1950. My choice of name came from my age. I am doubtless one of the oldest members. The digits represent nothing unless it is my subconscious working – they were chosen at random as there was already a Lazaruslong on the site.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

Floating Supervisor, though I take a good deal of interest in the Sailing and Calendar categories.

What other badges do you have on WikiAnswers?

Gold contributor. Mentor. (Thanks Ganderton!)

What is your first name?

Colin

What is your age?

I am infinitely old.

Would you care to tell us about your family?

I have two daughters, one son, five grandchildren and five great grandchildren. No surviving siblings. An orphan.

Do you have any pets?

Of my own at present, no. I am fond of dogs and help care for two which belong to a friend, Jacktu and Spirit. We practically share them.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in a small market town in Yorkshire. I have been here about four years (this time around). The countryside is stunning. The people are welcoming, yet the climate is horrible.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

We lived all over the place. My father travelled a great deal with his job so we were never settled in one place for more than about two years. I loved Singapore. Malaysia in general is a beautiful place, as are the Mediterranean and the Middle East where I would happily return.

What educational information would you like to share?

B.Sc M.A. (Engineering and science) Southampton University

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I am presently retired (I sometimes help out ex-colleges). Soldier. Engineer. Teacher/lecturer. Barman/landlord. Taxi driver. Father (Anyone that does not consider that an occupation needs to try it). Councillor. Consultant. Always a student of something.

What are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

Engineering and sailing are probably what, if anything, I most familiar with. Engineering because I like to know how things work and sailing because you need to be self-reliant. I enjoy astronomy possibly because my father did. Calendars and time because there is so much more involved than anyone really notices. There are dozens of them. With the exception of engineering, I am largely self-taught.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I collect students so I am told. Teaching is important; how it is done, more so. WikiAnswers now takes up a significant portion of my time. Reading, (anything with words in a line) learning something new.

What do you like to do for recreation?

Sailing, I also enjoy golf and walking, though I am getting a tad too old for either of the latter. Thankfully this is not so much of a problem when sailing if you have the vessel rigged correctly.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

Everything about me is a bit random. As it says on my bio page, I would rather know a little about many things than a great deal about one. Eclectic. Concise. Precise. I love comedy and have to be very careful on occasion when answering questions. I noticed one of my efforts came to the notice of some Supers, and I trust it gave a little light relief. (Thank you The Sisterhood. They know who they are.)

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

Mediation and resolving conflict, diplomacy and tact. (Though that statement was hardly diplomatic.)

What accomplishments are you proud of?

I try, not always successfully, to avoid pride. But turning adolescents into adults, informing and being informed. The ability to talk intelligently about almost anything. On the site; turning vandals into helpful members.

What are your special goals or dreams?

A short term one was to become a mentor which I have now achieved. At my age I seldom make long term ones but a friend and I have decided to take one last long voyage next year. The plans are underway and all being well, we shall be off into the wild blue yonder next spring.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Outgoing and approachable.

What brought you to WikiAnswers

I was told about the site by a friend who used to be a member; he thought I may enjoy it. He failed to mention the addiction.

What keeps you coming back to WikiAnswers?

The friends I have made albeit remote ones, the fun and camaraderie and learning more myself. I believe I am making a positive contribution and would hate to let down or disappoint those here.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers activity?

Helping and teaching others. Removing spam and inappropriate answers. Trying to turn potential vandals into good users.

One thought on “The Revival of Lazarus1950”

Your comments are welcome!

