Aggie80: All about the AnswerThons!

Is Aggie80 competitive?  Nah.  He’s only placed in seven WikiAnswers contests, won one WAmmy award and one Wizards of Wiki award during his tenure as a supervisor on Answers.com.  I was about to greet him at the Answers Summit in Atlanta a couple weeks ago when I noticed he was typing on his laptop.  I inquired about what he was doing.  He was answering questions in the Holiday AnswerThon naturally!  Whatever it takes to keep his winning streak alive…  This week Aggs waxes poetic about his favorite pastime, the AnswerThon, in the Poetry Cafe.

[If you would like your original poetry profiled on this blog, please e-mail it to poetry @ wikianswers.com (no spaces) and include your Answers.com username!]

An AnswerThon Weekend, by Aggie80 (with apologies to Clement Clark Moore)

’Twas the night before AnswerThon, when all through the house
The only creature stirring was the computer mouse
The keyboard was placed by the monitor with care
Ready for the AnswerThon that soon would be there.

The Super was nestled all snug in his blanket
The WikiAnswers logo more than apparent
And wife in her T-Shirt and I in my cap
Had just settled down to brace for attack.

When up on the screen there arose such a chatter
I checked message boards to see what was the matter
Opened a window, fingers flew in a flash
Popped open more tabs and adobe flash.

Disdainful answers to things you should know
Threw a pall on the knowledge deleted below
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But the Vandal Patrol and their warnings so clear,
With nimble fingers to delete the perverted,
I knew in a moment it would soon be reverted.

They spoke not a word, but went straight to their work,
Reverted the answers and then blocked that jerk.
And laying my finger aside of my mouse,
I comment to no one, “We fixed that louse.”

More rapid then eagles the key strokes they came
They chatted and messaged and typed out by name
Now, Deb, now Brave3, now Ami and Apryl
On Jade, on Bob, on Aggie and Crystal!
To the pages and references that sit by the chair
Looking for answers that soon would be there.

As dry leaves that before the wild hurricane fly,
When they meet with an obstacle, mount to the sky,
So up to the screen the answers they flew,
Devoid of the insults and bad spelling too.

Sunday morning came early the answers still flowed
The gleam of the hunt from my eyes still glowed
By afternoon’s light, my fervor had faded,
My answers were terse and some thought  jaded.
The crust of a pizza I held tight in my teeth,
The steam of my coffee round my head like a wreath.

I have a broad face and a little round belly,
That shakes, when I laugh, like a bowlful of jelly.
I was dressed in pajamas, from head to my foot
And my clothes were all wrinkled and crumby to boot.

My eyelids were sagging, my disposition not sunny!
My cheeks were all flush, my nose sort of runny!
My oversized forehead was certainly aglow,
And the chin full of stubble had had three days to grow.

Though chubby and plump, a right jolly old super,
I laughed at the mirror at my own sleepless stupor.
A kink in my neck and an ache in my back
Soon gave me to know I was an aging old hack.

I had given my all, I had done my best,
It was now time for a well deserved rest.
But a moment to post, on my WikiAnswers wall
“To all a good answer and Season’s Greetings to all!”

3 thoughts on “Aggie80: All about the AnswerThons!”

Your comments are welcome!

