License to Wiki: Invigilator-007

What do you get when you combine the famous number behind the ever so awesome James Bond with a watchful, analyzing eye? The name’s Invigilator, Invigilator-007 – our featured Contributor of the Week here on No Stupid Answers. I have to admit. I thought invigilator was an invented word. So I looked it up on ReferenceAnswers and was surprised to find this definition: “someone who watches examination candidates to prevent cheating.” No kidding! Thinking I must have missed something somewhere along the way, I dug a little deeper and found that invigilators are also referred to as proctors, scrutineers and verifiers. Well, whatever you want to call them – it’s hard not to see that Invigilator-007 is one heck of a contributor. Oh the things he does for WikiAnswers! Here’s more:

What is your WikiAnswers user name and the history behind it?

Invigilator-007. That’s my job and number at work.

Would you like to tell us about your family?

I have an ex-girlfriend and two adopted grown-up children who are 17 and 19-years-old.
The older one has just had his first child, a boy, and the younger one recently told me she is pregnant with her first. He wants to join the Army and she is studying at college in drama and wants to go to uni next year. With a baby on the way I am not so certain.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in Kent, South-East England and been here 41 years. I loved the area when I arrived in 1968 as a child but over the years it has changed. I stay put though.

Where did you grow up and do you have any special memories of your childhood?

I suppose I grew up here, but remember my previous life before moving by the river Thames near London. I loved that because we played in the river and went for rides up and down in our boat. We had a field at the bottom of our garden where we played during summer. Everything was great there. I also remember looking up into the sky one afternoon and seeing a passenger aeroplane’s engine on fire. It did an emergency turn back towards London airport, and I saw the engine fall from the plane. Luckily It crashed into a gravel pit across the river from our house. The plane made it safely back to the airport. It was big news back then, and my father, who worked at the airport, saw it land.

What educational information would you like to share?

I was not an academic in school and, like most kids, couldn’t wait to leave. I was 15-years-old when I left with just a few GCEs to my name. Later in life I took a college course on Law which I enjoyed and helped me get better work.

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I have done various things over the years. Shop work when I was young and we had our own shop, selling newspapers, tobacco, greeting cards, confectionaries, etc. Seasonal work when I first left school. Factory work on a production line for Hornby Railways. Caretaker, carer, painter, detective, councellor, school staff and invigilation officer.

What is/are your key area(s) of knowledge, interests or expertise?

Young people, counceling, some law. I think one thing followed the other, and I just fell into it from taking law at college. I always wanted to be knowlegable on law issues. That was when I became a detective on the commercial side of things. This gave me the capacity to do things I was not qualified to do before. Eventually I was asked If I wanted to work in a school. I have a good relationship with youngsters and ended up counceling. I have left full-time employment through ill health now but continue to do as much as I can when I can. I now invigilate at school which can be hectic at times for me but I will not give this up as I love all the kids and there is no better satisfaction than one coming back and saying “Thank you for the help you gave me.”

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

Stamps, coins, bank notes, DVDs – you name it in fact. The trouble is I have no order to any of it and stuff is lying around instead of being filed away in neat order.

What do you like to do for recreation?

As above really or helping out in my church. Have always been a bit of a volunteer. I have looked after the church tower clock and bell for 18 years keeping it going. It has become a lot harder for me now though.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I am church sidesman, I am disabled, I am one of four siblings (second eldest), have two damaged vertebrae in my lower spine from lifting a piano upstairs with three other guys and straining to get it around a corner halfway up! Have heart problems also.

Do you have any special talents you’d like to share?

Listening and giving advice.

What accomplishments are you proud of?

Helping people, winning a Barclays Volunteer of the Year award.

What are your special goals or dreams?

To live to 100.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

Friendly, approachable, giving, warm, volunteer.

What brought you to WikiAnswers?

Looking for the answer to “How do you stop your reindeer rug from moulting/losing it’s hair?”

What keeps you coming back to WikiAnswers?

Fascinated by how it all works and the friendliness of the users.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers activity?

I like to answer questions best, then correct the categories of misplaced questions and trashing rubbish.

Your comments are welcome!

