A Rose is a Lovely English Rose

roseThe great writer and artist, Gertrude Stein, once penned “A rose is a rose is a rose.” While thought provoking and certainly worth reflection, on our site we know that a rose is more than just a rose; in fact, it is an English Rose of the finest kind. Graceful, kind and jovial, Lesley (aka English Rose) is an exemplary Wiki-Citizen. Always giving of her time and efforts, Lesley is a community-oriented person who enjoys perusing through WikiAnswers as a Floating Supervisor and admits that she is on her way to becoming a certified Wikiholic.

On WikiAnswers…a rose is certainly no ordinary rose… Here’s more about our one and only English Rose:

What is your WikiAnswers user name and the history behind it?

My user name is English Rose. I’ve been described as an English Rose quite a few times, but I love this user name because I’m an English lass and my late Nan’s name was Rose.

Are you a Floating or Category Supervisor?

I am a Floating Supervisor. I don’t have a set category, as I love to have a browse through everything.

What is your age?

Now, now…you should never ask a girl her age. As I said in my bio “I’m as old as my tongue, and a little bit older than my teeth.” I don’t think I’m going to get away with that one forever, but a girl can have some secrets.

Do you have any pets?

I have two dogs – a Rottweiler called Bear and a little Scottie-cross Cairn called Pippin. I also keep tropical fish; watching the fish tank is better than watching television, as I don’t like bad language.

Where do you live, how long have you lived there and why do you like the area?

I live in the beautiful County of Shropshire, near the famous Iron Bridge, Blists Hill and Coalport museums – the birth place of industry.

Where did you grow up and would you care to share any special memories of your childhood?

I grew up in Telford. In fact, the Telford Town Park was like my adventure playground when I was growing up (although we didn’t have all the playground equipment like they have nowadays). Special memories…making underground camps, rope swinging into pools and sliding down grassy banks on cardboard. Great fun!

What are some of your past and/or present occupations?

I would call myself a domestic engineer, as I’m not working at present. I have done factory and office work in the past. I’ve also been a Community Drug Training officer, facilitating basic drug awareness in schools and to adults.

Do you have any collections or hobbies?

I have a collection of 20 Merrythought teddy bears, not very big collection, but quite old. My hobbies are drawing and painting.

What do you like to do for recreation?

I like to go camping, exploring the British coast line, country walks and cycling.

What are a few random facts about yourself?

I’m a Christian, and my faith is very important to me. I love doing things in my community, simple things that don’t mean very much to some people, but can make on old persons day, just knowing that someone is watching out for them. I’m a real softy with a big heart. I love meeting people from all backgrounds; I wouldn’t hurt a fly. I’m also quite a private person, especially when it comes to giving too much info on the Web. I think it’s because I don’t know who’s reading it. So bear with me, as I’m still a work in progress.

How would you describe yourself or personality?

I am honest and trustworthy, but also quite a cautious person. I do tend to guard myself a lot, so that I don’t get hurt, but apart from that I’m fun loving and enjoy the challenges and experiences that each new day brings.

What brought you to WikiAnswers?

I discovered WikiAnswers by accident. Whilst browsing as you do on Google, I noticed a question I could answer and thought ah-huh! I’m going to answer this one; so I did.

What keeps you coming back to WikiAnswers?

The sense of community spirit; I’ve not really been interested in some of the other popular Web sites. You must be doing something right, as I’m on my way to being a Wikiholic.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers activity?

At the moment, I would say being mentored by Mike 2. He’s great. I’ve not been a Supervisor for long, but I’m learning more and more each day about how WikiAnswers works and how to do things correctly.

Your comments are welcome!

