RockandRollPirate waxes poetic.

Jerry Seinfeld may not have said “I don’t want to be a pirate!” if he had met Liz, one of our amazing volunteer supervisors and now an Archive Researcher in the new WikiReviewers program.

She sports the unique moniker of RockandRollPirate when she is contributing to WikiAnswers.  You may also remember her from a Contributor Corner interview she did here on no.stupid.answers.

On top of being an avid reader, photographer, and all-around computer nut she is a poet as well (where does she find the time!?).

So, without further ado, we bring you Liz’s contribution to the Poetry Cafe this week.

[If you would like your original poetry profiled on this blog, please e-mail it to poetry @ wikianswers.com (no spaces) and include your WikiAnswers username!]

“For My Soldier,” by RockandRollPirate

Raindrops fall across my face
Thoughts of you on my mind
My heart quickening it’s pace
Longing for your touch; sweet and kind

All colors have gone to gray
Even though it may be to late
Your safe return is all I pray
Being together is what I anticipate

Then comes that fateful knock…
Knock on my door
The one that left me in shock
Hitting me to my core

Now here I sit, sorrow within
Veiled in black
The American flag over your coffin
For my soldier once in Iraq

It’s all a blur
The salute and praise
All the talk of what you were
I’m lost in a never-ending haze

Living; I don’t know how
With out you by my side
I’m all alone now
No more tears to cry…

One thought on “RockandRollPirate waxes poetic.”

Your comments are welcome!

