Kharrima is spelled a-w-e-s-o-m-e.

Here’s an example of someone who is just all about helping people: Kharrima has studied childhood education, was a gymnastics coach for kids of all ages, is putting together several cookbooks for publication, and worked as an activities director for a non-profit geared to helping local military troops.

And that’s all offline… When she’s not busy being amazing out there in the world, the Arkansas native is spending her time on the wiki-world of WikiAnswers as a Category Supervisor, Mentor, WikiGuide, Vandal Patrol member, and Silver Contributor.

And now for a bit more about Kharrima and what makes her tick:

How did you originally hear about WikiAnswers?

I heard about WikiAnswers when I was trying to write a paper for my ‘History of American People to 1877’ class. I was stuck on finding some information and when I Googled what I needed it brought up WikiAnswers.

Explain your username.

My username is simply the first letter of my first name and the first 5 letters of my last name! I’m not that creative! ha…

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the WikiAnswers community?

My main motivation for volunteering on WikiAnswers is simply knowing that with the time and effort I put into it, I know that I am helping someone. On a very small scale it can help you understand how it feels to be a doctor, police officer, EMT, etc. You obviously aren’t stitching up any wounds on WikiAnswers but you still get that feeling of “Hey, I just helped you out.’ Some of the questions really give you that satisfaction more than others, of course, but all together it’s just a great feeling.

What are your areas of expertise?

Well I supervise a lot of categories, a couple of which are not my expertise but I still can answer a lot of questions and try to keep that category free of questions that don’t belong or free of vandalism. I was a competitive gymnast and a gymnastics coach for 5 years so I would definitely say that gymnastics is definitely one of those areas. I also study pregnancy quite a bit and know a lot about it (I am going to school to be an ultrasound technician currently) so I try to help out there a lot too. I know a pretty good bit about Arkansas as well. So I would say those three main areas are my expertise.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers feature?

Hmm… My favorite WikiAnswers feature. Well most all of the features are extremely useful, but I have to say I like that we Supervisors can feature questions. The merging and splitting of questions is also a great one too!

What is the funniest question you’ve seen or the funniest experience you’ve had on WikiAnswers?

Well, one of the funniest questions I have seen was when someone had submitted a question on WikiAnswers and wanted to know if she was pregnant because her eye was hurting.

Another funny experience I have had (twice actually) is that as a WikiGuide, I leave welcome messages on new contributors’ message boards, and I usually include in my message, “if you have any questions feel free to leave me a message on my message board.” Well one day I noticed I had a new message from one of the users I had greeted and it said, “NICE TO MEET SOME ONE, EMAIL ME JUST TO MAKE SURE YOUR NOT A COMPUTER PROGRAM.” That gave me a good laugh!

Share a random fact (or two) about yourself.

Well I guess this is pretty random!!! In the course of two years I have been to three different colleges and had three different majors and now that I am a medical major I will be transferring to a medical school next fall (hopefully, if I get in)! I don’t have commitment issues, I have decision issues! ha…

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

3 thoughts on “Kharrima is spelled a-w-e-s-o-m-e.”

Your comments are welcome!

