Myrab51: Could she fit anymore badges on that profile?

On the outside, Myrab51 is a homeschooling mom in a ten year marriage. She’s worked in medical and law enforcement and loves reading, painting, Photoshop, and history. She’s crazy about all kinds of animals, finding it hard to turn down any – which might be why she has a Labrador, a cat, two gerbils, a turtle, a rabbit, two ducks, and… seven chickens!

But as I mentioned, that’s all surface Myra. Below that wonderful exterior sits a dedicated, hard-working, trivia-loving Wikiholic – and in true Wikiholic form, Myra has taken on many forms: She’s a Senior Supervisor and Mentor, a category Supervisor for over 20 categories, a Gold contributor, a Site Guardian for the Vandal Patrol and an adult advisor for the Wiki Influential Teens program.

How did you originally hear about WikiAnswers?

When I switched from Internet Explorer to Firefox, there was a search widget up in the corner. One of the options was to search Answers.com. I was helping my daughter look something up and we decided to use it. It all went from there.

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the WikiAnswers community?

Insomnia and I like sorting things. I learn some new things and there is a really neat group of people here. I was welcomed right in and there was never the period that everyone makes you feel like a newb.

What are your areas of expertise?

I don’t know if I would call it expertise. I think I know a little bit about a lot of things instead of a lot about a few things. My dad and my husband say I have a Master’s Degree in trivia. Probably my best Wiki areas are Comics and Children and Young Adult Book Series.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers feature?

I love to recatergorize things. It’s back to the sorting thing. 🙂

I also like the ability to block some of the more malicious users. I’m not blockcrazy or anything, it is just good to know it is there for those ‘special occasions’.

What is the funniest question/funniest experience as a Supervisor on WikiAnswers?

I really cracked up one day when someone asked “What are some good exercises to keep your pimp hand strong?” I was like What the??? I think someone eventually trashed it though.
I like questions like “Do girls have cooties?” and “Which year did prehistoric start?” as well.

Share a random fact about yourself.

I am crazy about my family. My husband and I met back in high school when I threw a piece of sandwich at my friend and hit him in the head instead. A piece of tomato stuck to his temple. He is a big guy (6’5″). I knew I was done for. He handed it back to me laughing and told me he thought I may have lost something. I was like *score*! I have been driving him crazy ever since.

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

3 thoughts on “Myrab51: Could she fit anymore badges on that profile?”

Your comments are welcome!

