A British Wikiholic with a taste for… Platinum.

Here’s something you don’t see everyday… A Mentor, Supervisor, WikiGuide and Platinum Contributor. With all the mentoring, supervising and wikiguiding, how does Peterc14 manage to have time to make all those contributions?

I guess the answer is, he’s a Wikiholic, like the rest of us.

A music lover based in Liverpool, UK, Peter is perfect for WikiAnswers since he has a wide range of interests and is really dedicated to giving solid answers.

How did you originally hear about WikiAnswers?

One day last summer I was in Ormskirk, Lancashire and noticed that there was a statue of Benjamin Disraeli, 19th Century Prime Minister of Great Britain. I wondered why the town had chosen to honour him in this way – what was the connection? Searching the internet was fruitless, lots of stuff about Disraeli and Ormskirk but no clue as to the connection.

I eventually came upon WikiAnaswers via a Google search which threw up a question about Runcorn, in Cheshire. At last! I thought, a website which isn’t just about American stuff!

I still didn’t find the answer to my query about Disraeli, but I saw, and answered, a question about William The Conqueror, and then another one about Queen Victoria, the rest, as they say, is history.

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the WikiAnswers community?

I love helping people, in real life as well as on the internet.

I could tell from the wording of many questions that there are some massive misconceptions about the United Kingdom, and British History, and not only in the US, and I particularly enjoy answering those and setting the record straight.

What are your areas of expertise?

British History is my favourite, followed by Literature – I like to think my expertise is in language and the ability to write a clear, concise answer.

What is your favorite WikiAnswers feature?

Split and Merge – I have developed a an obsession – sorry – passion for splitting incorrect alternates and placing them in their correct home. If someone asks what is Princess Diana’s shoe size, they should not get her waist measurement just because that has been incorrectly placed.

What is the funniest question/funniest experience as a Supervisor on WikiAnswers?

I can’t think of any especially funny questions – I try and take them all seriously, even the wacky ones. I have seen questions about Henry VIII’s wines – “N” isn’t far away from “V” on the keyboard.

Share a random fact about yourself.

I am the father of twins and until they were born we didn’t know it would be twins – we were all ready for ONE baby!

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

Your comments are welcome!

