Stupid little genius: Nothing to sneeze at

This is how I got all the answersWhat do you get when you combine a strong spirit, boundless creativity and a generous personality? Stupid little genius! No, that’s not an insult – it’s quite the compliment (read on to find out why). Stupid little genius has averaged 10,000 contributions a month since she joined just over 6 months ago, and one gets the feeling she’s only just begun.

Stupid little genius is a senior supervisor. She keeps an eye on dozens of categories inside Animal Life, among them (to mention a few obscure ones) Cryptids and Legendary Creatures, Jellyfish and Lemurs, Bushbabies and Aye-Ayes. I could go on… but I’ll let her introduce herself in her own words.

How did you originally hear about WikiAnswers?

I actually found WikiAnswers through Google. Quite boring, I know, but I had just come out of hospital after having surgery on my hip and wasn’t able walk about or get a job or anything.  WikiAnswers gave me the chance to do something constructive with my time. I love to learn and read and such, so it was the perfect place to spend my months of recovery. After a few weeks of playing around I was lucky enough to become a supervisor and ever since then I’ve been addicted!!

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the WikiAnswers community?

It’s just a great community! The people just make it so much fun to contribute. Plus, I can’t bear to see vandalism, incorrect answers, or mis-categorized questions!! I just HAVE to fix them!!

What is your area of expertise?

My main area of expertise has got to be art. Painting, drawing, modeling, animating, I love it all!! I completed a BA(hons) in Fine Art last year, and am looking to get a job somewhere in this area.

When I'm not wikiing, I'm an artistI can use all kinds of media, like acrylic, watercolour, pencil, charcoal, pastel, plasticine etc.  I also do a lot of stop-frame animation and this became my final year project at uni! I made little plasticine animals and animated them with Lego men to create stories about man’s effects on the environment. And when I got bored in the middle, I made a little Lego Darth Vader use a light saber to chop off the head of a hippo. Sadly, the tutors wouldn’t let me use this as a look into the future and it got left out of the final film…

On WikiAnswers, I specialize in the animal questions. I know it seems odd at first, but I love to draw and paint animals more than anything else, and as I do, I love to find out all about my subjects! So although I specialize in art, I know a lot about animals too.

What is the funniest question/funniest experience as a Supervisor on WikiAnswers?

There are so many questions that have made me laugh! Others just make you cringe… Here are a few that just made me laugh:

But out of all the questions there is one that bugs me, simply because I cannot find an answer! And that is:

Do bees sneeze?

I really want to know if they can sneeze and the reason why! I’m not really sure why I want to know but I do!

Share a random fact about yourself.I'm not as crazy as I look!

I think the most random thing about me is my username. And it’s got a cute story behind it too!  It was a nickname given to me by my brother many moons ago. We were on holiday by the sea and killing time. I’d just bought a lovely glass chess set and so we set up a game. I’d only played a few times before and my brother is four years older, so naturally he had the upper hand and liked to let you know it. After six moves, I moved my queen into a place where he could take it.  He did this saying “stupid…”. I made my next move while he said “little…”, and then looking at the board, pausing in disbelief he uttered “GENIUS!” as he realised he was in checkmate after only seven moves!

Do you want to be interviewed for the Contributor corner? Just leave a comment below and we’ll get to work.

11 thoughts on “Stupid little genius: Nothing to sneeze at”

  1. Hi! I LOVED the interview. You rock, Jane! 🙂
    But to the monitors/webmasters/whatever, I’d LOVE to be interviewed for the contributor corner.

    Like

  2. Dear Genius,

    I don’t know what to say. You are one person whom I really adore. Joining Wiki and meeting a supervisor like you was all God’s plan and a dream come true. You have made me a better person. You have made my faith increase, I’m much kind and helpful to the people around me.

    You are fantabulous, simple amazing.
    Love your paintings a lot.

    Keep Rocking, you’re already a Rockstar.

    Loads of hugs and kisses,
    Stanzz

    Like

  3. Thanks so much guys! It’s so great working with such wonderful people as you^^

    Hugs and cookies all round!!!

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

