Oh! The places you’ll go…

GraduationCongratulations to all the graduates out there! That’s a pretty awesome achievement. What are your plans now? Have you mapped out the next 5 years of your life? Ten?

No? Why not!?

I kid. I kid. I will tell you that I’m incredibly jealous of you at this moment. You’re young and ambitious. You’re still optimistic and haven’t become jaded by the industry. You’ve got fresh ideas and your whole life ahead of you. Not that I’m THAT much older than you but seriously, 9 years makes a lot of difference.

I remember my graduation from UNC (GO HEELS!) like it was yesterday. Those Carolina blue robes and all that sunshine…

*sigh*

In honor of your big day, I wanted to highlight one of the best commencement speeches ever given. It’s not from MY graduation, but I’ve heard people talk about it and I feel like everyone needs some good advice from time to time. The quote is from Jerry Zucker…he talks about the art of making mistakes.

If you’re going to fail, fail big. If you don’t, you’re never going to make a difference. Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep. Ask yourself one question: If I didn’t have to do it perfectly, what would I try? For many of you, the biggest obstacle to getting there will be a fear that you have carried with your since childhood — the fear of humiliation, of embarrassment, of ridicule. That is SO stupid!

Jerry Zucker
University of Wisconsin
May 17, 2003

So that’s it, guys. Get out there and fail a little. It’ll help you succeed.

Speaking of succeeding…have you decided yet what you’ll do with the rest of your life? Still no!? Ugh. Fine. So in the meantime, go and ask or answer questions about Job Training and Career Qualifications!

Your comments are welcome!

