Jack of all trades, master of some

fcmfallssmall.jpgThis week, we’re meeting Aggie80 from Michigan. When he’s not busy being a father to twins or managing a dojo or maintaining web sites about Genealogy or doing probate work or, you know, saving the world…Aggie80 donates his time and varied knowledge to the WikiAnswers community. What’s next, man!? A white paper on the environmental effects of ladybug migration!?

He knows something about pretty much everything and we’re darn glad he’s around!

How did you originally hear about WikiAnswers?

I don’t recall how I ran across FAQFarm (as the site used to be called), but was immediately pleased with the huge difference between it and the other Q&A communities out there. Within a day or two I had posted questions, created a category or two and volunteered to be a supervisor.

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the WikiAnswers community?

I learn from the questions and get to share my knowledge with others. The other supervisors are a sharp bunch and there are a lot of great participants out there.

What is your area of expertise?

Jack of all trades, master of some. If I could only figure out which ones! Given my military service, law degree, martial arts experience and general worldwide travels, I know a bit about a whole lot of different things.

What is the funniest question/funniest experience as a Supervisor on WikiAnswers?

I love the answers that let a person know that the question is not really a good question and rather dumb, but still provides a decent answer. I saw a recent question “Pics of ass?” that a sharp individual changed to “How do you photograph a donkey?” Very clever and maintains the integrity of WikiAnswers.

Share a random fact about yourself.

I’m a Shellback. For most people that would mean absolutely nothing, but those that do know it’s pretty cool. And I’m a Knight of the Golden Horseshoe. Again, most people won’t have a clue, but the Mountaineers out there know! And my family has been in the New World since 1652.

5 thoughts on “Jack of all trades, master of some”

  1. Swarthout is Dutch, also Swartwout or Swartout. And I was being a bit modest, My last name has been in the New World since 1652, I have ancestors that were here in 1631.

    And you know there is another aspect of volunteering at WikiAnswers. Answering questions on such a number of things has given me a real sense of appreciation to the diversity and experiences that I have had in my life. I’ve truly been blessed with a huge variety of opportunities and sharing them makes me appreciate them more.

    Mark

    Like

Your comments are welcome!

