Who are the people in our neighborhood?

Who are the people who contribute to WikiAnswers? What’s their story and what drives their generous nature? And where do they get all their knowledge from?

This is the first interview for a series we’ll be posting here called Contributor Corner. It’s with Wholelotsarocker — a certified financial planner, big time music buff and rock star dad of one of our team (me).

I recently asked my dad about his involvement with WikiAnswers and why he gets such a kick out of it. He’s got a long history of volunteering his time so this kind of activity is right up his alley.

…and yes, that is a banana on his head.

How did you hear about WikiAnswers?

Well, it’s only the leading wiki Q&A site on the Interweb. Who hasn’t heard of it? And where are they so I can school them?

What motivates you to volunteer your time to the community?

My desire to give back to people who haven’t had the many advantages in life that I have enjoyed. That’s also what inspired me to join the Peace Corps right after graduation from UNC-CH.

What is your area of expertise?

Useless rock and roll trivia, primarily from the fifties and sixties. I have far too much of that stuff rolling around in my head, and it is constantly trying to get out!!

What is the funniest question you’ve seen on WikiAnswers?

When was music discovered?
Duh. Everyone knows it was May 13, 216 BCE in what is now near Burkina Faso!

What’s your favorite song? Favorite band?

Whispering Bells by the Del Vikings.
Can’t name just one band… My top three are Moody Blues, Alan Parsons Project and Little River Band.

Share a random fact about yourself.

My right eye is nearsighted and my left eye is farsighted. But that won’t stop me from contributing on WikiAnswers!

One thought on “Who are the people in our neighborhood?”

Your comments are welcome!

